Last update in Mexico - Reisverslag uit Chiquila, Mexico van caitlin - WaarBenJij.nu Last update in Mexico - Reisverslag uit Chiquila, Mexico van caitlin - WaarBenJij.nu

Last update in Mexico

Door: Caitlin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

13 December 2012 | Mexico, Chiquila

Helloooooo!
Continuing on my last update, I went to campeche, an underrated city in which has suuuuupernice architecture. Normally I don't care thát much about the architecture but Campeche is just a mix between colourful colonial disneyhouses and an openair mermaid museum. All across the city there were huuuge triton-like heads of 2 meters high and metal sculptures of marketladies, pirates and fishermen. I also ran into ze german that I travelled with in Colima.
There was a mexican orchestra playing in the main plaza of campeche, it was great. I spend the next day going to the market with an italian chef, buying fresh food and cooking yummy food.

After campeche I took a bus to Merida with a supergreat hostel called nomadas. It had great breakfast, a pool, hammocks everywhere and a pink supergirly bathroom inside the dormitory. I chilled it out for the rest of the day reading my book at the pool.
Next day I met up with a japanese girl and went to Celestun, an asleep beach town where we took a boatride to see some pink flamingos. It was so beautiful! That evening I got back to the hostel, hanging out with some people and making shitty pasta, when the next morning during breakfast an Ozzie invited me to go with him to Valladolid to see some cenotes. My plan was actually to read my book again by the pool (story of my life riiiiight) but everyone knows that plans during travelling for breaking so in 30 minutes, I took a shower, got dressed and packed all my stuff to head off to Valladolid. In Valladolid I stayed in the best hostel I ever stayed in called La candeleria, obviously the hostel is being run by a Dutchie.
He was a really funny guy and we talked about the cultural differences between Mexico and Holland and even though Holland is a welfare state and you can at any time go to the hospital for free and we have all the basic necessities, people in Mexico seem to be so much happier than in Holland. Maybe it is because of that, I don't know, but I'm sure it's related with how much you appreciate what you do have.
What for sure changes is then when you go travelling you want less material things, you want to carry around the least shit possible.

Anyway, we rented some bicycles, it was great to go biking again after not having biked for 2,5 months. Just our luck, my ozzies bikechain broke on the way to getting to a cenote. (If you don't know what a cenote is, google a picture) It was a real adventure, we even had to walk some meters. The next day we got to chichen itza early in the morning, and as nice as the ruins are, it's a fucking touristy site. We got there at 9 and when we were leaving at half past 11 hordes of tourists in huge all inclusive tourists buses were entering the site. You also couldn't climb the ruins, so even though they call chichen itza the 7th wonder, I thought it was quite overrated. In the afternoon after eating epic lunch we took off again to see another cenote called san juan lorenzo. This one was way better than the former, it was completely open while the former was just letting through a little bit of light and we had the whole thing to ourselves. They also had a rope so for an hour or so we spent our time swinging ourselves like a bunch of monkeys into the water.

After my valladolid awesomeness I took off to Tulum, I had very high expectations of Tulum because everyone that I met along the way told me Tulum was amaaaaaazing. Although the beach looks like a postcard and water is intensely blue, I found it quite touristy. The restaurants were really expensive, there were shitloads of souvenirshops and I stayed in a dirty shitty hostel with people drinking and partying starting at 11 in the morning. Just not really the vibe I was looking for.
The next day I went with a very nice frenchy mademoiselle to a place called akumal, about 30 minutes north of Tulum. We rented some snorkeling gear and saw some amaaaazing turtles under water, coral and tropical fish. Dorky as I was, I forgot my bathingsuit in Valladolid so I bought a new bikini.
I didn't really think about it that my back was so white so I burned my back like crayzayyyy that day.

I decided afterwards I just wanted to be in a place with very few people to just read and be by myself. I almost made that goal. I took a bus and a boat and a golfcart to Isla Holbox which is a really nice calm beachy place but it's hard to find some space to be completely by myself.
I can't complain at all though because they have nice restaurants here and a nice backpacker vibe on this island.

Next saturday I'll be taking off to Cuba, bringing shitloads of soap and booklets to write on to give away as presents. (Soap is really hard to get in Cuba.) I'm kind of sad that my Mexican adventure came to an end but I am reaaally happy to be going to the next country and I think Cuba is going to be really interesting. A country of contrasts, I'll be writing about the when I enter Costa Rica because internet is slow and expensive in Cuba. I miss you all and really appreciate all of your comments, please keep writing back :)

Besos,
Caitlin

  • 14 December 2012 - 11:27

    Jody:

    Hi honey! Campeche sounds amazing! i mean; colourful colonial disneyhouses and big metal sculptures everywhere? wauw. I googled the cenotes, nice! Geniet van alles wat je verteld.

  • 17 December 2012 - 08:28

    Jeroni:

    Cait, wat een super leuk geschreven stuk weer!
    Cenotes zien er sick uit als ik Google mag geloven. Je hebt sowieso weer volop awesome shit gezien en gedaan.
    Mexico voorbij en nu naar Cuba, jeuuuuuuj.

    Have fun baybayyyy!

    x

  • 17 December 2012 - 20:52

    Tahné:

    CAITLINNNNNNNNNNNNNN

  • 02 Januari 2013 - 20:35

    Mieke:

    hey babe,

    wat jij allemaal meemaakt joh.... dat is allemaal zoooo caitlin en zo cool. ook zo dat jullie aan touwen gingen zwaaien in het water :D really brings out a smile on my face

    ik begin je nu wel heel erg te missen, en dat ik je nog zo lang moet missen kinda hurts my feely but I know that you're having the time of your life there en ik zou het voor geen goud van je af willen nemen. ik zou het wel graag met je delen nu, in de vorm van dat ik even bij je kan zijn :D

    honey I love you to pieces and please write back soon because my motherly heart is itching and I'm even dreaming about you and bad scenarios, so PLEASE PLEASE let me know you're ok!

    dikke vette kus <3 I LOVE YOU!

  • 05 Januari 2013 - 21:04

    Caitlin:

    Hi Darlings! I am superok in cuba but reallyyyyyyyy missing you all!
    I am counting the days now to leave to Costa Rica, tomrrow I am leaving to Santa clara and then going to trinidad, Ill update my blog in costa rica. Pfffffff Cuba is really nice but intensaaaah... so call me maybe!
    (I cannot go on facebook because commies)

    Kissy kissy
    Caity schaity

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

I like bikes, hardcore, tattoos, krav maga, mma, coffee, veganism, books, backpacking, lowriders, baseball, roses, olives and Spanish.

Actief sinds 09 Maart 2008
Verslag gelezen: 348
Totaal aantal bezoekers 35381

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2016 - 28 April 2016

Casablanca

22 Januari 2014 - 12 Maart 2014

Spanje + Portugal

17 September 2012 - 15 April 2013

Epic Latina America viaje total

31 Augustus 2011 - 20 September 2011

Joden!

02 April 2011 - 09 April 2011

Berlijn

16 Oktober 2010 - 23 Oktober 2010

Russia

30 Juni 2010 - 29 Juli 2010

Hilbillies and rednecks

28 Januari 2010 - 29 Juni 2010

Peru!

Landen bezocht: