My mother told me it was time for another story. - Reisverslag uit Palenque, Mexico van caitlin - WaarBenJij.nu My mother told me it was time for another story. - Reisverslag uit Palenque, Mexico van caitlin - WaarBenJij.nu

My mother told me it was time for another story.

Door: Caitlin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

28 November 2012 | Mexico, Palenque

It was good she did cause I actually almost forgot about this blog.
She also asked me if I do brush my teeth everyday. Of course I said yes. Hell does she know if it's true or not.

After my day of the dead adventures, some sightseeing and eating loads of non-mexican food I took a bus to san cristobal de las casas.
Cold jesus hell, it was cold! I ended sleeping under 4 (yes, four!) blankets and I was still freezing. It was worth it though cause san cristobal was a really nice place. In a nutshell: I went to the cañon del sumidero, meeting Dutchies for the first time on my trip although they slightly annoyed me. (We have been waiting 10 minutes now, when is the van coming? That bird is too lame to photograph. Don't they just sell sandwiches here?) I went to the bugmuseum with an israeli, with alive and dead bugs. He dared to hold a cockroach and a tarantula. I didn't.
I visited some caves and took a canooride on aguas azulas and I watched some documentaries about mexican corruption and about the zapatistas. (Google it if you don't know who they are.)
I was so blown away by the way the government and the army treat the zapatistas that I decided to stay in one of their communities for a week.
I stayed with two other norwegian girls, we stayed in a very primitive house (no water, shower or toilet) but it was worth seeing how the zapatistas live and to learn about them from so up close. And now I know how to make a fire! After a week I was dying to take a long, hot shower though and washing my hair never felt so good.

After that I took a bus to Ocosingo, which wasn't that special but the ruins in Tonina were worth the visit (I already sound like the lonely planet). I took a trip (going there in a pickup truck!) to laguna miramar where I got sick for the first time because of some fish I ate. So yeah, call the vegan police and tell them I went back to vegetarian eating. Drinking coca cola and eating prepackaged noodles worked like a charm. Laguna miramar was precious though, we tried to look for some turtles but unfortunately couldn't find them. The tourguide felt worse about it than I did. Pobrecito.

I was happy to finally arrive in Palenque and felt like I was back in civilization again. I am staying in the junglepart of Palenque though but I feel at ease that I'm near a city with a phonesignal, variety in food and cashmachines. Another thing is I also started to get harrassed more by los boys as soon as I left Ocosingo. "You are from Holland? Holland girls are the prettiest." Aw, that's sweet. I'm sure you didn't just make that up.

Anyway, for some reason there are shitloads of stinky but very friendly dreadlockhippies in the hostelpart of Palenque called el panchan, which I highly recommend if you ever wanna go there. Nothing beats waking up in a cabaña surrounded by palmtrees to the sound of howler monkeys which sounds like jaguars. Today I went to the massive ruins of Palenque. And, quoting Jeremy, probably one of the most annoying things about visiting ruins in Mexico is that there is next to no practical or interesting information about them at all. All the free information you recieve is from this stone signs at the foot of the pyramids and some statues. All information is as follows...this building is so and so years old, it's so and so metres wide and so and so metres high, and sometimes, it probably served as some sort of religious thing. It must be a deliberate tactic to get you to hire an overpriced guide.

Tomorrow I'm taking a tour to Yaxchilan and Bonampak ruins and after that going to Campeche. So long!

  • 29 November 2012 - 14:07

    Tahné:

    CAITLINNNN!

    Thanks for the update! Your mother was so right!
    Well, you might sound a bit like a lonely planet, only you're way more fun to read!
    I would like a guide book in cailtin language if I will ever make a trip to Mexico:P

    Love!! Tahné

  • 04 December 2012 - 11:04

    イエルン:

    Haha, Dutchies abroad! Wat zijn ze toch irritant, hè?!
    Als ik je ooit weer eens live zie moet je vuur voor me maken, ouwe survivort.
    Verder, haha, leuk geschreven stukje weer. Siked voor de volgende update.

    Have fun!!!!

    x

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

I like bikes, hardcore, tattoos, krav maga, mma, coffee, veganism, books, backpacking, lowriders, baseball, roses, olives and Spanish.

Actief sinds 09 Maart 2008
Verslag gelezen: 315
Totaal aantal bezoekers 35422

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Maart 2016 - 28 April 2016

Casablanca

22 Januari 2014 - 12 Maart 2014

Spanje + Portugal

17 September 2012 - 15 April 2013

Epic Latina America viaje total

31 Augustus 2011 - 20 September 2011

Joden!

02 April 2011 - 09 April 2011

Berlijn

16 Oktober 2010 - 23 Oktober 2010

Russia

30 Juni 2010 - 29 Juli 2010

Hilbillies and rednecks

28 Januari 2010 - 29 Juni 2010

Peru!

Landen bezocht: